I am, as they say, “gravitationally enhanced”.  I’m about 40 lbs overweight, and trying to get rid of that extra weight and keep it off is always a challenge. 

But it seems like it’s even more of a challenge on a super-low food budget.  I have an excellent diet book, one that really took off the pounds back when I was able to follow it.  (The Rotation Diet, by Martin Katahn)  It worked very well, and there were some days in his second week where I felt I was eating too much food–but I still lost weight!  The problem?  It was an expensive diet to follow, at least if you’re living on less than $6000 a year!  It called for some form of meat or fish every day, lots of fresh vegetables, lots of fruits–in short, it was a very healthy diet.  Very yummy, too.  But expensive. 

Let’s face it: it’s hard to lose weight if you’re poor.  The cheapest food is stuff like pasta and bread…highly refined, starchy carbohydrates.  Or, stuff like potato chips and soft drinks. 

With that said, it isn’t hopeless.  A little attention to detail makes a big difference.  Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been refining my own diet system, one that works for people on a low budget.  Over the next few days, I plan to blog about the basic building blocks of my system, which I’ve jokingly named “the ice-cream diet”.  It’s cheap, it’s healthy, and it works.  What more can you ask for?  😉 

